British Cycling announces extended elite road and circuit calendars for 2024

British Cycling announces extended elite road and circuit calendars

British Cycling has announced the dates and venues for the 2024 National Road Series and National Circuit Series. The calendar sees a return of the popular Tour of the Reservoir alongside new races in each series. 

Alongside planning for the 2024 series, the newly-created British Cycling elite road racing task force has been working to develop a long-term vision for the domestic scene, with recommendations due to be published in the new year. 

National Road Series 

The women’s peloton will kick off the National Road Series with the 8th Anexo/CAMS Women’s CiCLE Classic in the East Midlands on Sunday 17 March. Previous winners include Jessica Finney, Josie Nelson, Abi Smith, Neah Evans and Katie Archibald, in a race which is known as a true spring classic, with a combination of off-road sectors, short sharp climbs and a demanding route. 

The series then continues with open and women’s races at the East Cleveland Classic, supported by Redcar and Cleveland Council, on Sunday 14 April. The race will build on the success of the 2023 National Road Championships in the region, and the popular Klondike Grand Prix, with riders once again summiting the famous Saltburn Bank. 

The series then returns to Lincoln on Sunday 12 May for the iconic Rapha Lincoln Grand Prix, where riders will again do battle up the cobbled Michaelgate climb, with previous winners including Lizzie Deignan and Pete Kennaugh.  

Returning to the calendar for the first time since 2019, the Tour of the Reservoir and The Alexandra Tour of the Reservoir will challenge riders with a two-day stage race in Durham. Leah Dixon and James Shaw were the last winners of the event, and riders will welcome the hilly course and picturesque scenery over the weekend of 6-7 July.  

Riders will then take to the start line for the Lancaster Grand Prix on Sunday 28 July, before the Ryedale Grasscrete Grand Prix in Yorkshire on Sunday 18 August, followed by a trip to the North East on Sunday 15 September for the Beaumont Trophy (open) and Curlew Cup (women).  

British Cycling is also currently in discussions regarding the addition of a further open and women’s stage race to conclude the series, on the weekend of 27-29 September, with further details to be announced in due course. 

Outside of the series, the peloton will also pay another visit to Melton and Rutland for the CiCLE Classic (open) on Sunday 28 April. 

National Circuit Series 

The National Circuit Series will start in front of packed crowds in Otley for the Property Development Group Otley GP and Santini Otley Women’s GP on Wednesday 26 June, before a short trip across Yorkshire to the Ilkley Cycle Races on Friday 28 June. 

The CANYON Guildford Town Centre Races, which saw Alex Morrice and Ben Chilton take victories in the event this year, will return for the third round of the series on Wednesday 3 July. 

The fourth round will see riders travel to the West Midlands on Friday 12 July, before then taking to the start line on Wednesday 17 July at the Sheffield Grand Prix for the fifth round, where Monica Greenwood and Finn Crockett claimed victories this year. Details of the sixth round, a new event that will also take place in Yorkshire on Friday 19 July, will be confirmed soon. 

The seventh round, the Fort Vale Colne Grand Prix, will this year also include a women’s race to ensure full gender parity in this year’s series. This series will then conclude with the grand finale in the East Midlands on Friday 26 July. 

As has been the case since 2017, there will be equal prize money in both the National Road Series and National Circuit Series in 2024. Further details on the location of the 2023 national championships for road, time-trial and circuit will be published in due course. 

This year’s National Road Series winner, and member of the newly-created Elite Road Racing Task Force, Monica Greenwood, said: “Over the years, I have watched some strong riders take the overall National Series title, so I was very proud to win the women’s series in 2023 and add my name to that prestigious list. 

“Through being part of the Road Task Force, I have seen the commitment, energy and finances that go into running the series and it is fantastic to see renewed efforts being put in place to strengthen and build on those races that we all love to race and watch. The British race scene is an important place to develop our young talent and showcase bike racing to the wider public. I look forward to watching the 2024 series unfold and develop.” 

British Cycling’s Sports and Participation Director, Jonathan Day, said: “We’re hugely thankful to the support of the series organisers, which has enabled us to extend both the National Road Series and National Circuit Series calendars in 2024. Listening to feedback from teams and riders we’ve worked hard to provide a good variety of parcours, and while we know there is still work to do, we hope that they see the calendar as a positive step forwards. 

“We know that the environment for these organisers is incredibly tough, and I’m pleased that we’re supporting a number of new organisers as they embark on delivering their first events at this level. Like our Commissaires, marshals and other race volunteers, our organisers are the lifeblood of the sport, and providing them with the support and opportunities they need to develop will always be a priority for us.” 

Full calendar: 

Women’s National Road Series 

  • Round 1:  The 8th Anexo/CAMS Women’s CiCLE Classic – Sunday 17 March 
  • Round 2: The East Cleveland Classic supported by Redcar and Cleveland Council – Sunday 14 April 
  • Round 3: Rapha Lincoln Grand Prix – Sunday 12 May 
  • Round 4: The Alexandra Tour of the Reservoir – Saturday 6 – Sunday 7 July 
  • Round 5: Lancaster Grand Prix – Sunday 28 July 
  • Round 6: The Ryedale Grasscrete Grand Prix – Sunday 18 August 
  • Round 7: The Curlew Cup – Sunday 15 September 
  • TBC: TBC – 27-29 September 

Open National Road Series 

  • Round 1: The East Cleveland Classic supported by Redcar and Cleveland Council – 14 April  
  • Round 2: Rapha Lincoln Grand Prix – 12 May 
  • Round 3: The Tour of the Reservoir – 6-7 July 
  • Round 4: Lancaster Grand Prix – 28 July 
  • Round 5: The Ryedale Grasscrete Grand Prix – 18 August 
  • Round 6: The Beaumont Trophy – 15 September 
  • TBC: TBC – 27-29 September 

National Circuit Series – Open and Women 

  • Round 1: Property Development Group Otley GP and Santini Otley Women’s GP – Wednesday 26 June 
  • Round 2: The Ilkley Cycle Races – Friday 28 June 
  • Round 3: The CANYON Guildford Town Centre Races – Wednesday 3 July 
  • Round 4: West Midlands (TBC) – Friday 12 July 
  • Round 5: Sheffield Grand Prix – Wednesday 17 July 
  • Round 6: Yorkshire (TBC) – Friday 19 July 
  • Round 7: Fort Vale Colne Grand Prix – Tuesday 23 July 
  • Round 8: East Midlands (TBC) – Friday 26 July  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *