icture by Alex Whitehead/SWpix.com - 20/04/2023 - Cycling - Tissot UCI Track Nations Cup, Round 3: Milton - Mattamy National Cycling Centre, Ontario, Canada - Men’s Team Pursuit Qualifying - Oliver Wood, Daniel Bigham, Josh Charlton and Michael Gill of Great Britain

Next generation of track riders selected for GB in Portugal

British Cycling has announced the riders selected for the UEC Juniors and Under-23 European Track Championships, to be held in Anadia, Portugal from 11-16 July.

The 40-strong squad includes  reigning European, world and national track champions, who will be looking to show their dominance on the European stage. 

The under-23 squads will be made up of 23 riders, competing to take European titles across the sprint and endurance events. Four-time national sprint champion, Emma Finucane, will be heading up the women’s sprint squad alongside Iona Moir, Rhian Edmunds and Rhianna Parris-Smith. Hayden Norris and Marcus Hiley will be contesting the men’s sprint events. 

In the endurance events, the women’s squad of Sophie Lewis, Grace Lister, Kate Richardson, Maddie Leech and Flora Perkins will be vying for the European team pursuit title, after taking the silver medal last year.  

Straight off the back of becoming the youngest rider to take the elite men’s national time-trial title, Josh Tarling will take to the boards to contest the men’s endurance events alongside Josh Giddings, Dylan Hicks, Jack Brough, Noah Hobbs and national team pursuit champion Josh Charlton. 

The Great Britain Cycling Team will also be sending 17 up and coming junior sprint and endurance riders to go head-to-head with the best young track riders in Europe.  

Awen Roberts and Isabel Sharp will be looking to add to their 2022 medals at this event in their second year on the programme. and will be joined by endurance debutants Cat Ferguson, Carys Lloyd, Ella Jamieson, Holly Ramsey, Esther Wong and Imogen Wolff. The men’s endurance squad will be headed up by 2022’s European points race champion, Ben Wiggins, who will be joined by Matthew Brennan, Elliot Rowe, Jed Smithson and Finlay Tarling. 

Contesting the women’s sprint events will be Georgette Rand, Sarah Johnson and Anna Whitworth-Hay, while Oli Pettifer will compete in the men’s. 

Great Britain Cycling Team’s Head of Performance Pathways, Tom Stanton said: “The UEC Juniors and Under-23 European Track Championships is not just the biggest event of the year for our academy track riders, but it is one of the biggest squads that we send to an event each year. 

“This event is a chance for our younger track riders to showcase their development since joining the programme, take the spotlight and go after those prestigious European titles. For those at the end of their under-23 career it’s also a chance to get an international jersey before heading up to podium. 

“The GBCT performance pathway has supported some of the biggest names in cycling at the start of their careers, and we are committed to continuing to do so for many years to come. The event is also an opportunity for us as a programme to assess how we are developing as a cycling nation and what else we can do to bring more potential talent into the programme and support their development in the best possible way.” 

The full squads are: 

Under-23 men’s endurance 

Jack Brough  
Josh Charlton  
Josh Giddings  
Dylan Hicks 
Noah Hobbs 
Josh Tarling  

Under-23 women’s endurance 

Maddie Leech  
Sophie Lewis 
Grace Lister 
Flora Perkins 
Kate Richardson 

Under-23 men’s sprint 
Marcus Hiley  
Hayden Norris 
Under-23 women’s sprint 

Rhian Edmunds  
Emma Finucane  
Iona Moir 
Rhianna Parris-Smith 

Junior women’s endurance 

Cat Ferguson  
Ella Jamieson 
Carys Lloyd 
Holly Ramsey  
Awen Roberts 
Izzy Sharp 
Imogen Wolff 
Esther Wong  

Junior men’s endurance  

Matthew Brennan 
Elliot Rowe  
Jed Smithson 
Finlay Tarling 
Ben Wiggins 

Junior women’s sprint 

Sarah Johnson  
Georgette Rand 
Anna Whitworth-Hay 

Junior men’s sprint 

Oli Pettifer 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *