Picture by Alex Whitehead/SWpix.com - 06/03/2022 - British Cycling - 2022 British National Track Championships - Geraint Thomas National Velodrome of Wales, Newport, Wales - Milly Tanner, Blaine Ridge-Davis and Sophie Capewell of Team Breeze during the Women’s Team Sprint final.

Britain’s best track riders ready to do battle at National Track Championships in Newport 

Britain’s best track riders will descend on Newport on January 26-29 for the 2023 National Track Championships, with a host of last year’s Commonwealth and world championships medallists set to take to the start line.

A strong Welsh contingent will be spearheaded by 2022 world championships medallists Jess Roberts and Anna Morris, who will each compete in the individual pursuit and scratch race, while Roberts will also have her sights on the coveted national champions’ jerseys in the points race and team pursuit.  

After an impressive bronze medal at the Commonwealth Game, Will Roberts will be hoping to add a national title to his collection in Newport, while former national points race champion and world championships medalist Rhys Britton will also enjoy strong support from the home crowd.  

Supporters can also look forward to seeing Olympic and Paralympic medallists at the Geraint Thomas National Velodrome of Wales, including Neah Evans, Jody Cundy, Sophie Unwin, Jenny Holl, Jack Carlin and Katy Nicholls, who makes her return to the sport following the birth of her son Arthur last summer. 

Rider list  

A limited number of tickets for the event remain on sale here, with seated tickets ranging from £10 – £15 per session. Standing tickets are also available priced at £5 – £10, and concession prices are available for those aged under-16 or over-65. 

Men’s sprint 

Double Olympic medalist Jack Carlin will be looking to retain his national titles in the sprint and keirin events, but will be challenged by Great Britain Cycling teammates Ali Fielding, Hayden Norris and Matt Rotherham. Wales Racing Academy’s Harvey McNaughton will be hoping to top the podium after his 2022 bronze kilo medal. Team Inspired will face stiff competition from Glasgow Track Racing Team in the team sprint. 

In the para-cycling men’s C1-5 kilo, world champion Blaine Hunt will be hoping to wow the Welsh crowd, alongside seven-time Paralympic medallist Jody Cundy and Sam Ruddock. 

Men’s endurance 

Charlie Tanfield will be the hot favourite in the individual pursuit, having claimed silver last year, but will be challenged by friend and former teammate Jonny Wale, while Will Tidball will look to keep hold of his scratch race title. After a successful year on the track, Will Perrett will also be one to watch in the endurance events, as will Team Inspired riders Josh Giddings, Josh Charlton and Jack Rootkin-Gray. 

Fin Graham is the man to beat in the men’s para-cycling events after a medal-filled 2022, and will compete in the C1-5 pursuit and C1-5 scratch, but the Scot faces tough competition from the likes of Will Bjergfelt and Charlie Stanton-Stock. 

Women’s endurance 

Points race world champion Neah Evans will be looking to keep her national titles in the individual pursuit and points race, and will also ride in the scratch race, in which she took bronze last year. She will be challenged by the likes of 2022 scratch race national champion Ella Barnwell, Scottish champion Kate Richardson, and Great Britain Cycling Team teammates Jenny Holl, Anna Morris, Sophie Lewis and Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Eluned King. 

Holl will also be piloting her world champion stoker Sophie Unwin in the tandem pursuit and tandem time-trial. Morgan Newberry and Daphne Schrager will battle it out in the C1-5 pursuit and 500m time-trial.  

Women’s sprint 

Sophie Capewell will be looking to take home a national title after finishing second and third in last year’s sprint events. Having claimed a Commonwealth Games bronze medal last summer, Sophie will compete in the 500m time-trial, sprint, team sprint, and keirin events.  

She will be challenged by Welsh pair Emma Finucane and Lowri Thomas, who claimed team sprint bronze at the Commonwealth Games, and fellow Great Britain Cycling teammates Milly Tanner, Blaine Ridge Davis and Lauren Bell. Rio Olympic medallist Katy Nicholls will also be making her comeback on the track – her first event since the Tokyo Olympic Games in 2021. 

Day-by-day guide: 

  • Thursday: Closed qualifying session. 
  • Friday session 1: Women’s sprint, para-cycling sprint final, men’s individual pursuit, men’s team sprint, women’s individual pursuit. 
  • Friday session 2: Women’s individual pursuit final, men’s individual pursuit final, men’s team sprint final, women’s sprint final. 
  • Saturday session 1: Men’s sprint, women’s scratch race, men’s points race, women’s team pursuit final, para-cycling pursuit final, men’s kilo final. 
  • Saturday session 2: Men’s sprint final, women’s keirin final, women’s scratch race final, men’s points race final. 
  • Sunday session 1: Men’s team pursuit, women’s team sprint, women’s points race, men’s scratch race, para-cycling time-trial final. 
  • Sunday session 2: Women’s team sprint final, men’s keirin final, women’s 500m final, para-cycling scratch race final, men’s team pursuit final, women’s points race final, men’s scratch race final. 

Full day-by-day guide 

Header image: Milly Tanner, Blaine Ridge-Davis and Sophie Capewell of Team Breeze during the Women’s Team Sprint final at the 2022 British National Track Championships at the Geraint Thomas National Velodrome of Wales, Newport. Credit: Alex Whitehead/SWpix.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *