four cross series

British Cycling announces 2023 National Four Cross calendar

British Cycling has announced the dates and venues for the 2023 National Four Cross Series and the National Four Cross Championships, as well as the first ever Dual Slalom National Championships.

The series begins at Chicksands BikePark in Luton with the opening round on April 9, before heading to FlyUp 417 on May 7 in Witcombe. A double header weekend for rounds three and four on  May 27-28 will take place at Falmouth, which also hosted the 2022 National Championships.   

Redhill, in Gloucestershire, will host another double header weekend on June 24-25, before rounds seven and eight will be hosted in Afan, South Wales on July 29-30.  

The riders will then head to Eastnor Castle Deer Park in Herefordshire for the first ever Dual Slalom National Championships on August 25, followed by the 2023 National Four Cross Championships on August 27, where Josie McFall and Connor Hudson will hope to retain their national champions’ jerseys.   

The National Series winners will then be crowned on the ninth round at Twisted Oaks in Ipswich, which made its series debut as a venue in 2022, on September 17.  

The 2022 season saw Josie McFall secure the elite women’s series win after a brilliant fight with Sophie Cade throughout the year, while Zac Hudson pinched the pro elite title from Tom Bell.  

Series organiser, Chris Roberts, said: “2023 will be a great year of Four Cross racing. We are celebrating our 20th anniversary and want to make this season the best yet. With nine rounds in 2023, there will also be more chances for riders to get involved in Four Cross and discover just how great this sport is. From the gateway to gravity for rippers, to the head-to-head racing fix for older riders, Four Cross always delivers.  

“I would also like to say a huge thanks for the continued support from Schwalbe tires. Schwalbe have been a partner with our series for the majority of our 20 years and we can’t thank them enough for their belief and support of our sport.”  

2023 National Four Cross Series  

Round 1: Chicksands (Luton), Sunday 9 April  

Round 2: FlyUp 417, Witcombe (Gloucestershire), Sunday 7 May  

Round 3: Falmouth (Cornwall), Saturday 27 May  

Round 4: Falmouth (Cornwall), Sunday 28 May  

Round 5: Redhill (Gloucestershire), Saturday 24 June  

Round 6: Redhill (Gloucestershire), Sunday 25 June  

Round 7: Afan (South Wales), Saturday 29 July  

Round 8: Afan (South Wales), Sunday 30 July  

Round 9: Twisted Oaks, Ipswich (Suffolk), Sunday 17 September  

2023 Dual Slalom National Championships  

Eastnor Castle Deer Park (as part of the Malvern Festival) (Herefordshire), Friday 25 August  

2023 National Four Cross Championships  

Eastnor Castle Deer Park (as part of the Malvern Festival) (Herefordshire), Sunday 27 August  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *