pto women's asian open

PTO announces all-star cast for first Women’s PTO Asian Open in Singapore

The Professional Triathletes Organisation (PTO) has announced an all star cast list for the inaugural PTO Asian Open women’s race in Singapore on Saturday 19 August, led by PTO World #1 Ashleigh Gentle (AUS), #2 Anne Haug (GER) and #3 Lucy Charles-Barclay (GBR).

In total, the current line-up for the third and final PTO Tour race of the season will feature a 20-athlete field that includes 11 of the top 30 women from PTO World Rankings and covers 9 different countries.

Australian Ashleigh Gentle, winner of both PTO Opens in 2022 and second in this year’s PTO European Open in Ibiza in May, said:

“I have raced in Singapore a couple of times. Once when I was super young, at an Asian Cup and then at the start of 2019. So I have a feel for the place, but obviously, with the PTO Asian Open the race experience will go to the next level for the professionals – but also for the amateurs who have the opportunity to race the same 100km course around what is an iconic city.”

Germany’s Anne Haug, who beat Gentle in Ibiza, said:

“Competing against the best in the world really pushes me to get the best out of myself and to see how good you can be. These PTO Tour races do exactly that, which is why I’m looking forward to taking the start line in Singapore next month.”

The PTO Asian Open women’s confirmed automatic qualifiers start list can be found here and includes:

  1. Ashleigh Gentle (AUS)
  2. Anne Haug (GER)
  3. Lucy Charles-Barclay (GBR)
  4. Chelsea Sodaro (USA)
  5. Fenella Langridge (GBR)
  6. Jocelyn McCauley (USA)
  7. Marjolaine Pierré (FRA)
  8. Sara Perez Sala (ESP)
  9. Sarah True (USA)
  10. Lotte Wilms (NED)
  11. Jackie Hering (USA)
  12. Ellie Salthouse (AUS)
  13. Rebecca Clarke (NZL)
  14. Jeanni Metzler (SA)

*Auto qualifiers based on 12 June  (ranked #1-10) and 10 July rankings (ranked #11-16).

Both the women’s and men’s 100km races in Singapore will take place at the Marina Bay area against the backdrop of the iconic Singapore skyline. The final 100km course details were unveiled earlier this week, including a 16km circuit for the bike leg which starts and finishes at the Bayfront Event Space and takes athletes up the famous Sheares Bridge to give awe-inspiring views of the city. For more information on the course, visit

The women’s race takes place on Saturday 19 August, starting at 1515 local time (0915 CET), and will be broadcast live around the world to 195+ territories, courtesy of the PTO Tour’s partnerships with Warner Bros. Discovery. It will live on Eurosport 2 from 0900 CET as well as featured on a range of other international, regional and local broadcasters including DAZN, beIN Sports and SPOTV. In Singapore, the PTO Asian Open will also be shown ‘live’ on mewatch, Mediacorp’s digital streaming platform, alongside a preview programme and race highlights show that will also be broadcast on Channel 5, Mediacorp’s English language free-to-air channel.

The prize fund for the PTO Opens in 2023 is $600,000 USD per event split evenly between the top 20 female and male athletes – with $100,000 USD for the winner, $50,000 USD for second and $35,000 USD for third – making each event the most lucrative in the sport over this distance.

How amateurs can sign up too…

PTO Tour events also provide exciting opportunities for the amateurs to race on the same courses and on the same weekend as the leading professionals. Alongside the 100km triathlon for professionals, there is also a 100km for experienced amateurs as well as two duathlon races over a standard 4.5km Run/32km Bike/4.5km Run and a longer 9km Run/64km Bike/9km Run. Plus there’s the return to Singapore of The Music Run ­– a signature 5km fun run that encourages everyone to have a go while listening to their favourite tunes. To sign up for the remaining few places in what promises to be a festival of multisport activity for all abilities, visit for the 100km experienced amateur triathlon or duathlons or for The Music Run go to

The 2023 PTO Asian Open men’s start list is here and the four wildcards for each of the races will be announced on Friday 21 July.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *